Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Technical Questions

Old 14-07-2017, 02:20   #1
jmb_silvester

Car: Evo IV with Evo V engine and RS Rear Diff
Bigger FMIC on Stock Turbo, Good or Not

as the title says, does the bigger FMIC will give good gain on power or the other way around?, need to replace my fmic because there are leaks on some areas, im wondering if i go to bigger fmic or should stay with the stock, bigger looks nice cause it cover the grill of the bumper but i dont want to sacrifice the power if there is a bad effect. any comment is greatly appreciated

Old EVO never die, they just get faster...
4G63T leads the way...
jmb_silvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2017, 07:25   #2
Nicolas

bigger
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2017, 07:48   #3
Cyberstaff
Senior User

Car: Evo IX Fq 320, Jaguar xe R-Sport, Vw T6 kombi highline
My Car
I am no expert but i believe a bigger one will raise your bhp slightly.
Old 17-07-2017, 17:11   #4
Aidy
Jesus built my car

Car: Yellow EVO X
My Car
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberstaff View Post
I am no expert but i believe a bigger one will raise your bhp slightly.
Not necessarily, it's more likely to lower it as it will create a bigger pressure drop.
Aidy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Aidy For This Useful Post:
Mita (17-07-2017)
Old 17-07-2017, 19:08   #5
Rampant
Profound thinker

Car: IX FQ-320: GT1s, COP, Rods, LinkG4+, MR lip & has the devil in it (& 996 C4S: exhaust)
My Car
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aidy View Post
Not necessarily, it's more likely to lower it as it will create a bigger pressure drop.
Completely depends on the intercooler design itself, the spec of the car in question, plus whether anything else is to be changed at the same time.

***Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there lurks the skid demon***
//// Do as you OUGHT, not as you WANT ////
Rampant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2017, 20:04   #6
Aidy